Premed 101 Forums

Interview at Sickkids Hospital.. Help

vick001

I'm a first year undergraduate student and just got an interview at Sickkids for a summer research position in oncology/hem. The research seems so interesting and I really want this position whether I get paid or not. I was just wondering if anyone has had an interview here and what to expect? OR any interview advice in general... The last interview I EVER HAD was in grade 10 at McDonalds. Basically, if I could read the menu, I was hired... I'm sure this won't be that easy lol. Any feedback or information would be nice. Thanks!!

don't dress up too much. they know you are a student.

i assume you are a girl... dark jeans, cords or slacks would do for bottoms. a sweater would do for a top (do not bring out your hoody/sweater with big hollister/AF/AE prints). and sneakers... or leather shoes if they are from the comfort section of the shoe store. NOOOO stilettos. you can wear your backpack to the interview.

read the lab's past research. also read review articles on the research topic.

I'd expect to be asked 1) why you are interested in the research 2) how would your background contribute to their research 3) what your future plans are.

Hmm I wouldn't even know how to answer number 2... I'm in first year so I can't really think of any experience or background things that would help contribute to it...

Hmm I wouldn't even know how to answer number 2... I'm in first year so I can't really think of any experience or background things that would help contribute to it...

I should've phrased it more along the lines of "how are you prepared for this type of work," I think.

I'm just thinking of what I was asked when I sought an undergrad research project.

LOL ima dude bro.. Yea i plan on just wearin a dress shirt.. im more worried about kind of questions to expect, or if anyone in the GTA region already had an interview there.

i thought your name was Vicky.

i interviewed a few times there.