Premed 101 Forums

Totally disappointed

I have just completed a BA and BSc (5 year program) at the UofC and I'm just taking time off to work for a year when BAM, I've just been completely rejected from every med school I applied for (UofA, UofC, USask, UBC). Granted it's my first time applying, I'm still totally bummed out.

My stats:

cGPA: 3.2

Best two: 3.67

MCAT: 33Q (10PS, 12VR, 11 BS)

ECs: Typical 4hr/week at hospital. UC club memberships in my undergrad, manager role at my current job.

BUT the first 3 years of my GPA were quite horrid. I got a 2.9, 2.7, 2.9 respectively (and believe it or not, this was all due to a boy I was recklessly in love with in my silly youngling years, silly me). Anyway, I was just completely immature and I managed to pull myself together the last two years and ended up with a 4.00 in my last semester

Sorry for my ranting, just felt like I'm on the verge of a nervous break down, I feel like I can really do this, but my GPA for the first 3 years of my undergrad were horrid and I even had to retake Organic Chem as I got a D on the first time around.

So I guess I just want some honest opinions here; is med school just a dream for me? Or will my earlier academics come back to haunt me? Right now I'm just working in a managerial position (if that even makes a difference), I'm not even sure if I should take some correspondence courses to help boost my GPA or if I should just concentrate on some massive EC's. Any honest opinions (good or bad) are appreciated, just don't want to chase something that I can never have because right now, that's exactly how it feels. :confused:

queens and western for you dear...

I have just completed a BA and BSc (5 year program) at the UofC and I'm just taking time off to work for a year when BAM, I've just been completely rejected from every med school I applied for (UofA, UofC, USask, UBC). Granted it's my first time applying, I'm still totally bummed out.

My stats:

MCAT: 31Q (10PS, 12VR, 11 BS)