Premed 101 Forums

UBC Waitlist?

There's not a waitlist at UBC this year? I guess a lot of things have changed at UBC Dentistry, and the selection process is really upsetting! I applied again to UBC this year (it was my 3rd year applying), and I DID NOT get an interview call! I found this really strange because I WAS interviewed last year (though I wasn't in my first year of applying), so I thought I would definately get an interview again this year, especially since I am an IP student, but... nothing! Did this happen to anyone else? Anyways, I'm relieved that I applied to several other schools, so hopefully something will work out for me there. But I feel bad for people who are counting on UBC Dent because their application system really needs some help.

Hi everyone, just joined this site and have been reading all the threads and learning a lot. Wow Sweet tooth, that's really sad to hear how your UBC application went down compared to last year!! How is that possible? This year was my first time applying to UBC dentistry, and I didn't get an interview either, so I'm worried the same thing may happen to me too.

Somebody told me there is an appeal process in case ppl aren't satisfied with the decision of the committee, but it has to be completed within a certain duration of time, so if you feel like something was wrong with your application, you should consider that Sweet tooth. I don't know whether I should file an appeal because this was my first year applying, but since you have your last year's application to compare to, it might be worthwhile for you. Its possible that they could've made a mistake with your application, so you should check it out.

I am truly amazed at how frustrating the admissions for UBC’s dentistry is. I go to SFU, but I've heard from a lot of ppl that there are a lot of politics inside UBC dentistry. Good luck with your other applications, Sweet Tooth!