Premed 101 Forums

Fast Track 2 year nursing program

SKimmsey

I graduated with a B.Sc from mac last spring, and I applied to a lot of fast track 2 year nursing programs in Ontario. I have been accepted into the York program but am waiting on a reply from UT before I make a final decision.

I have read a lot of info on this forum about nurses that go into medical school, and that it is possible. My question is, if I do go into this 2 year fast track program, is it possible to apply to medical schools in Canada with the marks from this nursing program? I have done all prerequisites since I have a B.Sc and my last two years are about 3.6.

To my knowledge, I know that UWO, Queens, Ottawa, McGill, NOSM all look at best 2 years and Toronto, Mac, UBC, U of C look at all years (or both degrees).

And to any nursing students or nurses out there, is it possible to get a high GPA in the nursing program? It would probably be even tougher in a compressed program, but I am willing to work for it.

I don't know about accelerated nursing programs, but i DO know that NOSM looks at all years instead of the best two.

Nursing is pretty intense when taken over 4 years, so 2 years has gotta be brutal. Of course you can still do well in it, but it's going to be a lot harder. Good luck to you.

• 1 month later...
I graduated with a B.Sc from mac last spring, and I applied to a lot of fast track 2 year nursing programs in Ontario. I have been accepted into the York program but am waiting on a reply from UT before I make a final decision.

I have read a lot of info on this forum about nurses that go into medical school, and that it is possible. My question is, if I do go into this 2 year fast track program, is it possible to apply to medical schools in Canada with the marks from this nursing program? I have done all prerequisites since I have a B.Sc and my last two years are about 3.6.