Premed 101 Forums

Appealing minimum GPA cut-offs?

So here's the story, morning glory: Originally, I thought I was invited to interview at Western having satisfied both years of the 3.75 GPA cut-off. Turns out that in reality, I've only satisfied one year of it.

Why? Because at my university, in one year, one of the courses listed on my transcript was worth 4 credits, and I got a 4.0 on it. Because it was worth 4 credits, it was a little more heavily weighted, and gave my GPA for that year a 0.01 boost. So for one year, on my university transcript, my GPA was exactly 3.75, making UWO's minimum cut-off. So along with my other year, I thought I was good to go in terms of satisfying all reqs.

But in the OMSAS record, that 4-credit course is given the same weight as other 3-credit courses, so I don't get that 0.01 boost. My OMSAS record lists my GPA in that year as 3.74. Therefore, I don't make the cut-off using the OMSAS record. Problem is, I'm in my last semester at school here and I'm extremely doubtful of making the cut-off again. :(

I emailed the admissions office, and the nice person there said that I can appeal on the grounds I just described. I've searched the forums, but haven't found anything on appealing based on these grounds. Do you know anyone who's appealed and succeeded? Do you think my appeal would even be considered reasonable?

Personally, I think I'm being fair, as a 4-credit course is more workload, and thus, should be more heavily weighted, but then again, I'm also extremely biased. :P Thanks in advance for your help!

You should certainly appeal if it becomes an issue (i.e. you are granted an acceptance conditional on having two 3.75 years at the end of the year).

Don't stress out until it becomes a problem; wait until you have an acceptance and then appeal to stop them from taking it away.