Premed 101 Forums

Less than desirable GPA but pretty good MCAT?

Hello everyone, i'm new here and not very experienced in the med school application process. Could any kind folks out there give me some ideas as to my chances for UBC med or other provinces' med schools (I'm a UBC student who just finished my 3rd year btw)? Would i even get an interview?

Overall GPA: 85.3%

Last 60 credits: 84.4%

Pre-req average: 82.3%

MCAT: 36Q VR-11, BS-12, PS-13

Volunteering at BCCH, VGH and UBCH totalling about 300 hrs so far (not wayfinding etc... activities that actually involves 1-1 patient interactions)

I have about a year of part-time research experience processing viral blood samples. I'm also doing co-op for a year so i'll have other research experience as well and possibly my name on some of the published papers.

I think i'm a bit weak on the EC stuff since i don't have much club activities, leadership experiences and volunteering at remote areas. I'll perhaps try to find some of these opportunities later as i'm not planning to enter this year's application cycle.

I also know my school marks are not that excellent among successful med school applicants. I guess i should've studied more consistently rather than cramming, especially when most of my exams require rote memorization of vast amount of facts and when i've been taking the harder versions of O-chem and biochem. But what's done is done... i can only hate myself for my lack of self-discipline now :'(

Any input would be much much appreciated :) Thank you!

Your GPA will most likely get you an interview. Your average is equal to or slightly greater than the average entering class at UBC. MCAT is high, but I'm not sure how UBC weights it- I don't think very much.

EC's are fine from my perspective. I think you could get an interview and acceptance.

EDIT:

Last years entering class had averages of:

Overall- 83

Pre-req- 81

Last 60- 86