Premed 101 Forums

Once and for all...

I am a 1st yr student, going into 2nd come the fall, at a health science program. My first year wasn't bad, but it wasn't fantastic, this is due to one bad course (that ut will drop anyway). I have found a few bird courses (that sound very itneresting), hopefully, with any luck, my gpa should be quite good. Firstly, there seems to be this rampant and contraversial idea/opinion that health sci is easier than life sciences at most places. This, I must say is true, and this is infact the reason why I took this course of study, as opposed to something more "traditional". Some applicants to UofT say that UofT looks at the difficulty of courses and program when choosing applicants. On the website, it says that the reason why it drops the courses from a full timetable each year, is to "encourage" individuals to pursue more demanding courses. I really need to know how my application would look like if I apply from an "easy" undergraduate program with courses such as "History of Medicine" and/or "Sports and Recreation of Ancient Greece/Rome". I am positive this has been discussed previously, but I want to reach some sort of consensus. What are your ideas/ feelings. Does UT employ this practice, is it a beneficial practice, and most importantly, (for me) how would my example be viewed by the adcom?

I think it would be hard to find any school in Ontario that openly or even behind closed doors discriminates between undergraduate majors or courses. Whether that is the best practice or not is up for debate, it is certainly the easiest policy.

I know there is one school out west, forget which one that openly says, or at least used to say that they considered the difficulty of coursework in their rankings.