Premed 101 Forums

Applying to CaRMS and volunteering

sidi

Hi all!

I have just been accepted into UBC Med and am very excited. I have been volunteering for 3+ years at a local hospital, but am wondering if I should continue. My question is: how important is volunteer history when applying to CaRMS? What exactly factors into the whole process?

I am just curious about the whole process and have been researching the whole CaRMS. Started with "what the heck is this!?!? " to "I think I get this, or not?"

Thank you!

Relax, you have 4 years to figure our CaRMS. Yes extra-curricular activities are assessed as part of CaRMS, but you don't need to volunteer at a hospital. If UBC is anything like UofT, you will be bombarded with opportunities to volunteer and get involved. So enjoy your summer and stop thinking about CaRMS!

If you enjoy it you can try and keep it up.

Having these kinds of things on your CV is less important in the carms process than it is in the med school admissions process. So I wouldn't keep doing it if the only reason you want to keep it up is because you want it to look good for carms.

What could be a better use of your time for carms purposes during med school, is doing research in your field of interest, observerships/electives in your field of interest (and even various other fields to show that you explored and are sure about your pick). There will be many opportunities to volunteer as a med student.

Hi

I am fresh doctor graduated from middle east university and i want to know if i am eligable to apply for Carms since i am non-canadian citizin...

You need to go to the carms.ca site, click on Main Residency Match and then click on Eligibility.

You would also need to look into licensing exams etc. on the Medical Council of Canada site, which is http://www.mcc.ca/