Premed 101 Forums

What are the costs associated with applying for dentistry?

Hi guys,

as you guys already know, I'm a pre-dent nursing newbie.

For future references, I have some questions in regards to the cost of applying to Canadian dental schools.

I'm trying to apply to just two.

UofT and UWO

Can I get the cost for these?

1) Cost to apply to dental school

2) Cost to register and write Canadian DAT

3) Any other costs

I think that I need to start saving up now lol

Thanks guys. :)

Hi guys,

as you guys already know, I'm a pre-dent nursing newbie.

For future references, I have some questions in regards to the cost of applying to Canadian dental schools.

I'm trying to apply to just two.

UofT and UWO

Can I get the cost for these?

1) Cost to apply to dental school

2) Cost to register and write Canadian DAT

3) Any other costs

I think that I need to start saving up now lol

Thanks guys. :)

1) $75-100

2) ~$230

3) school transcripts are free and the money you spend on the DAT includes 5 DAT transcripts to be sent out

Stresso, I think your numbers are a bit inaccurate...

1. The UofT application fee is $230, Western is $250 (you have to apply directly to each school).

2. Approx. $250 to write the DAT (can't remember the exact price). If you're planning to take the Kaplan course, it's $900. If you're just going to buy the materials, it'll be something like $150.

3. School transcripts at my school are $15 apiece. Also, depending on where you live, you may need to pay travel/accomodation expenses for interviews.

Hope this hepls.

No harm done :).

And yeah, the Ontario schools really rip you off with the application fees... I applied to McGill as well, and it cost only $80. Looks like other provinces are just much more reasonable than here in Ontario...