Premed 101 Forums

Foreign student loans/grants?

Hey guys, so I'm an international student trying to attend med school in canada. I was wondering if any of you are aware of any loans/grants/fin aid programs that might help me pay for med school.

I've already gotten into uoft and another canadian school, but unfortunately I really don't have the money to pay for it (like getting in wasn't hard enough).

So far, I've checked with all the major banks, and they won't give me a loan unless I have a canadian cosigner, which I don't :(

I've checked with my home country/banks and they really don't have any such options either.

So I'm kinda lost, and I might just end up declining my offers.

Thanks, any help/advice would be appreciated.

I can't think of any. I was in the same situation when I was doing my undergrad in the US, and I was able to obtain a small loan directly through my school. Since you've already tried the bank routes, I think contacting the schools directly is the only option left. You never know, they might have some sort of loans available, maybe even grants. But I have no idea how you'd pay for living expenses and such, especially if you are not able to work. You might wanna look into deferring and trying to get your permanent residency in the meantime, since that'd help you with both government and bank loans (no cosigner is required if you are a permanent resident).