Premed 101 Forums

my chances?!

Hey all, i just registered and this is my first post. Hopefully I'll get lots of feedbacks. I majored in molecular biology and right now I'm doing a course work masters (almost finished). I don't have the hottest GPA right now and am WORRIED!

Background:

Avg undergrad is 3.05 cGPA, pretty much the same for sciGPA

Physiology masters - 3.51 GPA

SO question is, do I even have chances? If so, how crazy high does my DAT score needs to be for me to be accepted into canadian dental schools? Which one(s)?

I have done quite a bit of research with three different labs (for eight months each, one of them being an oral cancer research lab), and did co-op at two biopharma companies (also, 8 mos each)

Worked as a dental assistant for 2.5 years

LOTS of extracurricular activities

THANKS A LOT GUYS in advance!

I think you have a shot. My friend actually did 2 years of dental hygienist before applying to dental school. He said he was going to apply as a special student.

At which university did you do your Physiology masters? Did you get any awards, scholarships etc?How productive were you while doing your MSc(how many papers did you publish)?

I think you have a shot. My friend actually did 2 years of dental hygienist before applying to dental school. He said he was going to apply as a special student.

At which university did you do your Physiology masters? Did you get any awards, scholarships etc?How productive were you while doing your MSc(how many papers did you publish)?

Thanks for your reply, Tina.

I am doing mine at SFU. It's a course work masters program, where you don't start your research until the last couple of semesters, and that's what I'm doing now. I got an NSERC award, but nothing else... so I'll have to nail the DAT to increase my chances. It would be ideal if I could get into UBC, but if I have a better shot at another school, I will definitely give it a try.