Premed 101 Forums

Health Sci or Life Sci at MacMaster or Health Sci or Physiology at Western?

equus

I want to be a family physician. I am nearly 100% sure that this is what I want to do, and right now I need to decide which university to go to for my undergrad and which program to take.

Does anyone have any opinions about these Health Sciences or Life Sciences at MacMaster or Health Sciences or Major in Physiology at Western? Which program is most interesting/easy/would prepare me for med school?

For the people who've taken one of these programs: What is it like? Would you recommend it? Did you get into medical school with this degree?

I've already booked tours at these schools and have done a lot of research about all of these programs, but I want to hear opinions from people who've actually taken these courses.

I graduated from Honors Physiology at the University of Western Ontario and I have nothing but good things to say about the program. It is great if you want to do medicine because it has a lot of relevant knowledge. It is also very good for backup options which you hopefully won't need, but it is also an additional consideration.

I would say Mac Health Sci. I'm in Mac Kin myself and live with a health sci (and his g/f, also a health sci, is always over, so I have a decent idea of what it's like). The program seems like it's an excellent way to develop social skills, research skills, critical thinking skills, and learn interesting information about medicine. If your 100 % sure you want to be a doctor, I would say this program is also good in terms of back ups because you'll be able to do something health care related for sure.