Premed 101 Forums

Honours Science?

Hi,

I’m a first year cegep student (waiting to star my semester this fall actually) and I was just wondering if u guys have any thoughts about the honors science program (at marianopolis college)… I mean how will this impact my studies, time, etc. - is it really an enriching activity that provides interdisciplinary perspective on science in general, “as well as an excellent preparation for university study in most health science, pure science or engineering programs”. Or (emphasize on “or”), conversely, am I just asking for trouble here?

PS: I was attending an IB high school so I have been taking enriched courses for a large part of my life… but I also think that this really had a told on my overall average (just 87-91... it's an approximation… too scare to calculate it for real lol…but I’m sure that it could be a lot more if I had less subjects and more time to study them- or if I didn’t procrastinated so much :D )… on the other hand, I have no point of comparison… so up to this point, I don’t even, base on my average; performance;etc. , how competitive I really am…

So basically, my question is: will an honors science program improve my chances to be accepted in med, med-p… (if yes, at what cost?) and how difficult is it(honors science… or cegep in general for that matter… in contrast to the international bac.)? And i was told that some med schools (like Mcgill) check ur high school grades, is this really truth and, if it is, will having a few low grades affect their decision?

Oh, and any tips... advices on college, etc would also be highly appreciated?

tks so much for helping

I doubt McGill checks your high school marks. (Do they even have access to that information?)

The honours science program at Marianopolis is an excellent program. But is it really for you?