Premed 101 Forums

How do I become a nurse?

another_try

Hey everyone,

Just a bit about me. I graduated from high school 3 years ago and at that time I did not pursue any post-secondary education. I moved out of my parents house because of a variety of reason.

I worked low paying jobs since then while renting out a small room. It was great the first year - to be able to live on my own. It was awesome. But soon the shine went away. I realized that I needed education in life. I've always wanted to work in a hospital. As such I am thinking about pursuing nursing at UWO as a starting option.

It took a lot of courage to make the decision to go back to school. I just need some advice. How do I apply to nursing? What's the process? will they look at my high school marks?

Also, do you guys have any tips with regards to finances? I don't have any money. Most of it just goes to pay the rent/groceries. I know there's OSAP, but for that I need parent's income if I am not mistaken. I am not in a position to face my parents. I want to at least get into 2nd year of nursing and then I will talk to them.

I hope someone is able to guide me. From what I was able to research, would talking to the nursing counselor be the first step then? I also heard about something called Student Welfare for people who need finances.

One last thing, can I miraculously get into UWO for January 2010 and take some nursing courses?

Well, all you need to do to see if you can get into nursing is simply go to schools' websites and see their requirements. Nursing doesn't seem to be too hard to get into, compared to some other fields. They DO have some high school requirements, so you may need to do some upgrading before you can be eligible for admission. All that information is available on every nursing program's website.