Premed 101 Forums

Physics: Is it really that important?

jpandher

Hi everyone,

This is my first post :) I'm a student in Health at University of Waterloo, and i was just wondering is taking physics as a elective is a good idea? i would not be taking the lab (which i hear is brutal), and just wanted some input? Does it help with the MCAT, or should i leave it and take another course? And if i don't tkae it, anyone got any recommendations on a better course that i could take instead? Thanks in advance

Hi everyone,

This is my first post :) I'm a student in Health at University of Waterloo, and i was just wondering is taking physics as a elective is a good idea? i would not be taking the lab (which i hear is brutal), and just wanted some input? Does it help with the MCAT, or should i leave it and take another course? And if i don't tkae it, anyone got any recommendations on a better course that i could take instead? Thanks in advance

Generally all the physics covered on the MCAT is covered in the first year intro physics class.

also, some schools require physics, so depending on where you plan on applying, yes.

Hi everyone,

and you are right about that lab :) I had to work harder on that than the actual course by far, and it really doesn't offer you ANY additional understanding of the material.

Physics is awesome! It controls everything in the world at the most fundamental level. How could you call yourself educated if you don't understand this most basic of subjects? Everybody needs to take it. At the very least you will be breaking the stereotype that bio kids can't do physics. :)

Physics is awesome! It controls everything in the world at the most fundamental level. How could you call yourself educated if you don't understand this most basic of subjects? Everybody needs to take it. At the very least you will be breaking the stereotype that bio kids can't do physics. :)

Couldn't agree more.

Psh, biochem's where it's at baby. ;):P