Premed 101 Forums

Why You Should Choose Western!

Greetings,

As this is my final year as a Western Medical Student, I thought I would give a little plug for my soon to be Alma Mater. I'll let the 2012s and 13's tell you about how fun this school is, I will focus on the upper year stuff: I give you the top 2 reasons why UWO is the best medical school in the country.

1. Our clerkship is the best in the country, bar none. We do all our clinical rotations in year 3, so when we start our electives, we don't look like fools in front of that Toronto PD you are trying to impress. I heard from MULTIPLE residents on my electives (for a surgical specialty) that we are the best trained elective students. By the time you do your electives, you have intubated, possibly scoped, sutured multiple times, possibly even performed parts of surgeries (multiple classmates had performed tonsillectomies in year 3, another had buzzed off the gallbladder in a lap chole). We do first call on medicine... it's either you OR a junior resident covering your team. You are prepared well here.

Which leads me to...

2. You can't always get what you want... unless you go to Western. Match Day was March 8th this year. Not trying to sound pompous, but we kicked ass. We matched about 98%* (for your comparison, U of T was about 95%). And yes, it would be easy to match 100% if everybody went for family, but we had:

-12 general surgery matches (in a year where there are no Canadian spots left in the 2nd round)

-2 ophtho

-3 ENT

-3 urology

-6 ortho

-2 derm

-2 plastics

-multiple matches to IM (including a large group to Mac, supposedly the best IM program)

-multiple matches to paeds (including a bunch to Ottawa, the premier paeds program)

All of which results in...

3. Schulich Grads ranked #1 in Canada on LMCC (licensing exam all 4th year students write)