Premed 101 Forums

Canadian or International...?

Hi everyone,

I have found myself at a crossroads, and would appreciate any insight or advice you might have. I'm a mature student, 26 years old, completed a HBSc and MSc from U of T. As most U of T science students can relate to, my first couple years of undergrad were pretty terrible. However I eventually learned how to improve, earning a GPA of 3.64 and 3.91 in my last two years respectively. My masters degree wasn't the most productive (my lab hasn't had a publication since I began my degree in 2006!), but I had the opportunity to present at multiple forums/conferences and won awards for those presentations. In terms of ECs, I've been involved in numerous student councils, volunteering/leadership/mentoring opportunities, music, dance, etc. for many years. I currently work in clinical research, and have gained great hospital experience over the last year (my job requires assessment of patient symptoms and coordination of chemotherapy treatments, etc). MCAT 11/11/11/Q.

I applied to UWO, Queens, U of T, Calgary, Ireland. Rejected pre-interview from UWO (for the second last year of 3.6), Queens (for my Q) and U of T. Interviewed in Calgary, but I'm not confident about gaining a spot in the class with the recent rumours of a significant decrease in the class size. Also interviewed for RCSI (Ireland), and was offered a place in the class.

I'm undecided as to whether I should seriously consider Ireland as an option or not. I obviously would much prefer to stay in Canada for my medical education, however there are many factors that would influence my decision to go to Ireland (i.e. There's no guarantee I could have an interview in Canada next year, along the same lines, what could I do over the next year to significantly improve my Canadian application, also how difficult it would be to obtain a residency position in Canada from Ireland).