Premed 101 Forums

Dorms

Im a student from the U.S. and I want to transfer out of my current uni, bcoz it kinda sucks lol. Ive applied to a lot of places, but I applied to three canadian ones (McGill, UBC, UofT). I know those are the hardest to get into in Canada and my grades are pretty bad right now, so im just trying to focus on improving them, and I know that I probably wont get in with that low of a score lol.

Point is that if the 0.1% chance happens and I do get in to them, (my top choice school in Canada being McGill, then UBC, then UofT), I recently found out that most McGill students stay off campus, is this true? I also heard that most UofT students commute instead of staying on campus?

The problem is that if I do get in, I would be going in as a third year student and I want to develop a strong network of friends wherever I end up. Would the fact that most students at those uni's stay off campus/commute make it really hard to facilitate that? (I understand that it depends on my social ability and i'm a pretty outgoing person, im asking in general)….if I do get in, should I stay off campus to meet people instead of the on-campus housing? (lets put cost aside for now)

Well, I can't speak for McGill, but I go to UofT St. george, so yes, a lot of the students who go to that campus commute; however, a lot of them also live off campus, so that's an option.

If you're gonna go to McGill and live anywhere near Montreal - make sure you know your basic french. Trying to order at a mcdonald's in montreal suburb in english is REALLY hard :(

As for making friends... join an intramural team or some clubs/student groups, and that should help you make friends. At UT, lifesci kids have a online message board, so u can talk to people there and they have like quarterly events, so you can go to those and meet the people you've been talking to online.

That being said, international student fees are steep. Make sure you look out for that.