Premed 101 Forums

How to improve Extracurricular Activities?!!!!!

Hi

I am a 3rd year student who applied to a few med schools in the west this year. My academic stats are fairly average (~3.8+GPA, 32+MCAT) for general med school applicants.

So far, I interviewed at U of Calgary med school and based on the feedback from other schools I got rejected from (UBC, U of A), they really screwed me over my extracurricular section. For both UBC and U of A, my academic scores were similar/above the average, but my extracurricular scores for both schools were quite horrendous :(

My previous extracurricular activities include: working in a lab since grade 12 (with research grants), volunteering at the hospital, writing for school newspaper, golfing, and school club executive. I used to take intensive violin lessons until middle school (used to aim for Julliard at one point) but completely stopped doing anything with violin after junior high. In general, I've taken lessons for piano and violin, but never really used it for anything. While sharing my EC with my other brilliant friend, he pointed out that my EC activities tend to be too typical premed :S, do you think it is?

It would be super awesome if I get into U of C this year, but chances are, I may not get in. Now that I know my weakness, I am really trying to work on my EC. Since last year (around the time I submitted applications), I've been organizing this non-premed conference called the Canadian Undergraduate Technology Conference (CUTC), and I usually spend ~7+ hrs /day on this.

But the thing is, compared to my EC last year, organizing CUTC is pretty much the only thing I've done. To be honest, I started out doing this as a resume-padder thing, but I find that I really enjoy this as I get more involved with it. It sounds bit corny, but I really learned a lot about myself, got to know many awesome people, and widened my perspectives.