Premed 101 Forums

Nursing students going into med? =]

Hello everyone! I'm a current high school student who has received early acceptance to the u of a fac. of nursing for next fall. I'm hoping to eventually apply for med school there and was wondering if anyone knows about nursing courses that could be used as med prereqs. I've been getting mixed info about whether NURS150 and MMI133 can be used in lieu of the 2 biologies. thanks in advance!

Hello everyone! I'm a current high school student who has received early acceptance to the u of a fac. of nursing for next fall =] I'm hoping to eventually apply for med school there and was wondering if anyone knows about nursing courses that could be used as med prereqs. I've been getting mixed info about whether NURS150 and MMI133 can be used in lieu of the 2 biologies =] thanks in advance!

Here is an MMI question for you:

Do you think it is justifiable for students to go into health care professions where there is a current shortage (nursing and pharmacy) even though they have no intention of becoming a professional in that field?

As to your original question, I have no idea. No I am not helpful, I know.

If you know for sure you want to apply for medical school, then it might be better for you to do a Science/other undergrad where you can take GPA-boosting courses. Nursing will not be that good for GPA. Maybe you should expand a bit further on your reasoning behind wanting to go into nursing so we know where you are coming from.

Secondly, your best bet to get accurate answers to your questions about whether or if any nursing courses can be used as medical school pre-requisite courses is to e-mail the admissions office directly.