Premed 101 Forums

Suicide/Crisis Prevention Hotline Interview

Byronnn

So I've been trying to find new interesting volunteer opportunities, and one that I'm in the process of starting is a position at the Vancouver Crisis Prevention Centre. I filled out the online application, attended and 'information session', and the next step is the interview that I have tomorrow.

My biggest worry is that I'm 18 years old and have not yet experienced the 'real world'. During the information session I noticed that nearly everyone was several years older and much more accomplished than I.

I tend to bite off more than I can chew, then chew it like a champ. I like to feel accomplished. Honestly that's been my motivation for most things I've done so far in life. The problem that this has created is that I'm not very good at answering personal questions about my experiences and how they've shaped me. I think that it's very likely that this interview will show me as very bland and naive. Perhaps I am, but that is largely why I want a volunteer position such as this one - to gain actual life experience. Understandably, I don't want to tell them that this is my main reason for applying.

If anyone has any confidence-instilling responses, I'd be glad to hear them.

Byron

I actually recently had a interview at a rape crisis centre in my town. Don't worry about seeming inexpereinced and such, they are willing to train you and I think they expect new volunteers to be very naive about the whole thing. The minimum age to volunteer at my organization and probably yours is at 18, so I don't think they will look down at you for being so young and I also think they will take your age into account and realize that you may have not had as many life expereinces as someone older and this will impact your answers to some of their question.