Premed 101 Forums

MD/PhD students - do they really have a leg up on the rest of us?

So... I will preface this by disclosing that I am a 3rd yr medical student in the regular program.

I was chatting with an MD/PhD student who joined my class for clerkship. They said they were interested in specialty x and that they wouldn't back up b/c there was no/little fear of being unmatched. He/she said that MD/PhD's typically get their first choice and that if they were to go unmatched it would reflect poorly on the school.

Any opinions? Can't say that all the MD/PhD students I've met were superstars in the clinic but does the PhD really make them that much more attractive to residency programs?

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply
So... I will preface this by disclosing that I am a 3rd yr medical student in the regular program.

I was chatting with an MD/PhD student who joined my class for clerkship. They said they were interested in specialty x and that they wouldn't back up b/c there was no/little fear of being unmatched. He/she said that MD/PhD's typically get their first choice and that if they were to go unmatched it would reflect poorly on the school.

Any opinions? Can't say that all the MD/PhD students I've met were superstars in the clinic but does the PhD really make them that much more attractive to residency programs?

There is a definite advantage, all else being equal, but the problem is that things are not equal. Like how a graduate degree is no guarentee of med school admission, md/phD should certainly be not a guaruntee of CARMs matching. Each person can bring their own unique stuff to the table, and although MD/Phd might get to the interview stage easier, their arrogance/superiority complexes are going to turn off the panel, while someone with a "mere" MD and great personality should be able to get a spot. That said, I have heard rumors that some carms specialities require at least a masters (like neurosurgery), so if no graduate degree = out of luck