Premed 101 Forums

Questions about taking medical school Pre-reqs after undergrad

Hi guys,

Hope you are all well :)

I am in 4th year and will be graduating from UofT this year. I applied to med this year but I didnt get in and it was expected because my MCAT was 27S V10/P7/B10 Essay: S. I only applied to Mac and Ottawa because of my bad MCAT (which i will retake this year and actually study for it this time..had too much fun last summer).

Anyways, my GPA: 1st yr: 3.51 2nd: 3.87 3rd: 3.94 4th: will be 3.94 or 3.96. My omsas GPA: 1styr: 3.49 2nd: 3.81 3rd: 3.925 4th: 3.925 or 3.93

I will hopefully make the GPA cutoffs next year, but there is something I wanted to ask you guys:

1) I wanted to a full year physics, and half year inorganic chem course with lab at another univeristy (like ryerson) during the school year 2011. Now I just want the credit for these courses because Im planning to apply to the states this year too and those are the pre-req credits im missing for certain state med schools that i want to attend.

I dont want to take these courses at UofT cuz its hard there lol and I dont want to touch my undergrad GPA.

So, how will taking these courses affect my applications to the Ontario medical schools. For example, Ottawa takes your last 3 years and doest its 1x 2x 3x weighting system thing, will my extra courses at this other university now act as my latest university year? Another example, UofT: will it still consider that I took a 5 course load during my entire undergrad (so i can drop my 4 lowest marks) despite that im taking these extra pre-req courses part time at another university?

Overall, how is taking these courses at say Ryerson affect my application to the Ontario medical schools?