Premed 101 Forums

Alright, so does anyone know how this wait-list business works?

This is my first time applying, and I only applied to UBC and I'm really hoping to get in-but just wondering, what are the realistic chances of people getting in? (i.e. is there any way of knowing how many people are on the list/how many people usually decline offers, thus causing WL students to receive an acceptance)

Also, I know that the time given to applicants to accept offers is shorter this year than previous years-I guess that means the first and biggest? wave of waitlist acceptances will go out somewhere around May 19/20??

Sorry for all the questions--I'm just curious and anxious and wondering if I should even keep some hope or just start planning for the next cycle?!

Anyways-I guess other people on the waitlist can post here so we can keep count and track of the WL movement?!!

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

UBC doesn't tell you where you are on the waitlist or how many people are on the waitlist, so you have no way of knowing if you're close or not.

Last year, one of my friends was waitlisted at UBC and he stayed on the waitlist until something like July or August before he was finally rejected. I've heard of some people getting offered spots in late August.

In the past few years, something like 15-20 people have declined their offers if I remember correctly (I'm not sure if those included OOP or not). From those numbers it doesn't seem like there will be a lot of movement.

With the changes for this year, I don't know how it will affect things. I was waitlisted as well and, personally, I'm going to live like I've been rejected until I get an email saying otherwise. You really have no way of knowing if you'll get a spot, so, in my opinion, you should just start enjoying your summer and preparing for next year.