Premed 101 Forums

Combining TPR and EK

whystress?

Hey fellow pre-meds!

Right now I'm studying for the MCAT by taking the Princeton Review in class course, and I also have the Exam Krackers books. I find that when I thoroughly study through the PR material and do all the homework, I undestand the concepts and do great on the questions that are asked. However, when I go to a EK practice test, I find the questions and style of passage much more difficult.

Based on this, should I be focusing on studying from TPR material or EK? I feel as though TPR will be a huge waste of money if I could have just studied from EK.....

Hey fellow pre-meds!

Right now I'm studying for the MCAT by taking the Princeton Review in class course, and I also have the Exam Krackers books. I find that when I thoroughly study through the PR material and do all the homework, I undestand the concepts and do great on the questions that are asked. However, when I go to a EK practice test, I find the questions and style of passage much more difficult.

Based on this, should I be focusing on studying from TPR material or EK? I feel as though TPR will be a huge waste of money if I could have just studied from EK.....

I was in the exact same situation as you last year. Last year, I took TPR course. I liked their materials, but then I was also hearing rave reviews about EK, and so I bought the EK set. I found that EK goes into much more detail than PR and the questions are different and even more challenging (?). However, at other times, I found TPR explained certain concepts better than EK.

If you have the time, go through the EK set. I think the PR class is a waste of time, but their materials are quite useful. It really comes down to the amount of time you have. The more types of questions and passages you go through, the better prepared you are.