Premed 101 Forums

Anyone considering this or in a program now? What are your thoughts on these programs?

I wouldn't even apply until after I did my Master's but was just thinking the last couple of days about applying to programs like this.

I know a couple of MD/PhD's at Toronto.

The program is kind of weird, you start year 1 with the MD class, then you spend the next 5 years completing your PhD, then you rejoin the 2nd year class (usually, you complete your defense during "2nd year", so you have the title doctor already), and year 3 and 4 are your clerkship years as normal. It is odd to have such a long interruption though.

But I'm not sure how other schools do it.

MD/PhD certainly is a difficult program, because your early medical experience gets diluted by your graduate studies. Even for people in medical school who di a straight MD find it very challenging to recall knowledge in the clinical years from their pre-clinical years.

However, many people are in this program, but just have to know that it is a difficult program as either MD or PhD program is difficult.

They do have those... from what I hear, there's lots of opportunities to do a M.Sc. or a PHD one inside the MD program. I think almost every school in canada has some sort of research component available to MD students these days, if you wanted to pursue it.

I know a couple of MD/PhD's at Toronto.

The program is kind of weird, you start year 1 with the MD class, then you spend the next 5 years completing your PhD, then you rejoin the 2nd year class (usually, you complete your defense during "2nd year", so you have the title doctor already), and year 3 and 4 are your clerkship years as normal. It is odd to have such a long interruption though.

But I'm not sure how other schools do it.

so the 2nd year class is actually the 7th year ? :confused:

weird indeed, but it's pretty cool to have a M.D ph.d at the end of your name though :D

so the 2nd year class is actually the 7th year ? :confused: