Premed 101 Forums

A Girl looking for some help **Please**

My situation:

Hey yall, I go to University, and I will be a 2nd year student.

-for those who don't know my university is a "easier school" to get into, I had a 70 average in high school

My major is business, and I would like to transfer after my 2nd year to the UWO Ivey Business. I will have the prerequisites, in terms of courses and I am planning to lead some charity events, this summer. (showing some leadership)

My 1st year average mark is at a 73%, but right now I am serious, about going to med school.

-I am also doing a grade 12 chemistry course, online with IlC, independent learning center. (will this effect my university GPA??, cause I might drop it)

How will all this transferring & high school credits and stuff effect my GPA?

A couple of things, banking on an average that is 17 percent higher than your high school average and 14 percent higher than your 1st year marks probably isn't something that is realistic unless you have some pretty significant reasons for not getting a better average. If it is comes down to studying vs. partying, yeah, you could probably see a big jump if you put effort into your studies.

High school credits have nothing to do with your University GPA and will not affect your application to University. However if you are serious about medicine, why are you taking a high school chemistry course, and then why are you considering dropping it?