Premed 101 Forums

No Hopes? Lost.

Hi,

I'm looking for some help and advice...

I'm a student from UofT that has messed up her academic career. It's going to be my third year at UofT this upcoming Fall, but I'm still considered a 2nd year student because I've failed some courses in first year and went into probation. Coming into university, I was planning to pursue into medical school but I think hopes are all shattered.

I had a cGPA of 1.23 in 1st year. The reason being is simply having a hard time adjusting to school, long commuting hours, exhaustion, and picking the wrong courses. In the second school year, I took only three courses and ended up out of probation with a cGPA of 1.64. It's a slow climb but the goal was to save myself from probation.

I'm planning for my third year at UofT, but I am still considered a 2nd year student. Is there any hope for medical school? Should I look into doing a Masters instead? Anyone that can recommend next steps? I don't think it will be possible for me to finish undergrad in four years, do MedSchools require a strict four year program?

Thanks thanks

I don't want to come off as negative, but it's virtually impossible to enter meds with such a low GPA. And your mix of incomplete courseloads and failed courses will only harm it further.

Technically, there is still "hope" but it's almost negligible. Do you have any extenuating circumstances to justify your marks? That could be your only shot.

I suggest you first try to overcome whatever difficulties you are having and GREATLY boost your GPA to 3.0+ (preferably 3.6+). I'm not sure about Masters' requirements but I believe they, too, require fairly competitive GPAs.

Other than that, there are many other careers out there, even in the healthcare field. Explore your options, talk to Academic Advice on campus, research and see if there is anything else you find interesting.