Premed 101 Forums

Current Year Marks - Do not count!

I messed up in my first year, 3.0 gpa. So I am relying on my upper year marks for my gpa, but apparently your current year marks are not evaluated. (Please correct me if I am wrong, I would love to be wrong this one time.)

e.g If I am going into my 4th year, and applying to ottawa

Year 1 3.0 x 1 = 3

Year 2 3.8 x 2 = 7.64

Year 3 3.9 x 3 = 11.70

total 22.34/6= 3.7(WGPA)

I AM OUTRAGED! Now if I want to apply to many other schools and be competitive that use a cGPA, I will have to apply once I graduated, so I will have like 1 year off and work on ECs for a year.

Its true unfortunately :(. As interviews are typically offered to IP's during Jan/Feb, you won't have final marks for your current year of study. That being said, your grades are extremely competitive for Western/Queens (best/last 2 years). Also, calculate your weighted GPA for UoT - you might have a shot there as well.

I do not get why you are so "outraged"? How exactly do you propose they make any kinds of decisions if they take into account courses for which you do not even have grades in?

Plus remember that even though the grades of your current year do not "count" you still need to meet certain cutoffs to maintain your acceptance...often it is something like 3.3 so it is by no means difficult to achieve, but it also means you cannot just stop caring and fail your remaining courses once accepted into med.

Apply to the years that look at your best/most recent 2, and as someone suggested U of T does the weighted GPA deal. If you need to wait another year it is not that huge of a deal...many applicants have to reapply...just be happy that you managed to salvage that 3.0 and are doing really well now...many people wish they could have 3.8s and 3.9s. It is not the end of the world. :)