Premed 101 Forums

Non-academic letters of reference?

I keep seeing threads where people say that you should have one non-academic letter of reference. Here's my problem. The only people I can reasonably get to write me letters of reference are professors (I think). Most of my EC's happened at school because I was an international student in the US, so even though I worked 20 hours a week all through my undergrad, it was on campus. I was involved in some non-school things and organizations, but the people I did them with were students and I don't really think I should have letters from my peers.

Now that I'm back in Canada doing a PhD, my job is still on campus as a TA, and the only things I do that aren't on campus are swim and stuff at my church. I presented some planetarium shows at Dal this year (I'm at SMU so that's not technically my school), but once again the guy in charge of that was a professor. I'm obviously not going to get the lifeguard at the YMCA to write me a letter, and it seems like it would be kind of weird to get someone from my church to. I did work at a home for developmentally disabled adults the only two summers that I came home during undergrad, but that was quite some time ago and I'd rather have letters from people whose primary interactions with me weren't when I was still a teenager. I do a lot of random astronomy/physics/science presentations for school groups from time to time, but that doesn't really give me someone who could write a letter.