Premed 101 Forums

non-trad after-hours ECs!

hi everyone

so i am in grad school and need to be in the lab all day - which gives me no time to do any ECs during the day. i wanted to volunteer at some food bank, blood clinic, etc etc but it seems absolutely all positions available are during the day!

so my question is: what did you grad students/people with full time jobs/parents etc. do in terms of volunteering in the evenings/on weekends? is there anything available?

thank you! :)

What about a patient recreational therapy program at a hospital?

Hep[ing with the elderly in a elderly home, with the blind in care or at home, working with young diasabled, Big Brother - Big Sister. Soup kitchen will be serving supper after work hours. Visiting patients with no family or family far away, I would imagine the patients would happy to see you any time.

As a grad student I had volunteered tutoring kids with learning disabilities - flexible scheduling.

As a grad student and working person I volunteered at a therapeutic riding centre - so much fun, wish I had time to do it still! (obviously more fun for a horse person than a non-horse person probably)

As a grad student and working person I volunteered at a therapeutic riding centre - so much fun, wish I had time to do it still! (obviously more fun for a horse person than a non-horse person probably)

What an amazing opportunity for the kids and for you. Due to bad scheduling I missed out on such an opportunity for kids with motor dysfunctions. I will still try to get to do it in the future, schedule permitting.