Premed 101 Forums

GPA Weighting

out of curiosity, does anyone know if u of t ever applies the weighting formula to someone who has not taken a full course load in all years of their undergraduate?

I took a full course load for 3 years (and actually took more than a full course load one of those years) but in my final semester of 4th year I was unable to take a full course load (i took 3 instead of 5). I was doing an international exchange and there were no web/distance courses for me to take even if I wanted to (small uni). I graduated with more than enough credits (42 as opposed to 40...). I also had my dean write a letter to support my explanation... do you think I would be considered seeing as it was out of my control? If applied the formula makes quite a difference in my GPA (actually bumps me to a 4.0) so I am really hoping for it.

you might have a shot but they are pretty picky from what I hear.. But the thing about u of t is, once everyone meets the min wgpa,they look at your cgpa I am pretty sure so the whole dropping your lowest marks no longer plays a part....so weighting serves no purpose after that point in time. So if you have a high cgpa without weighting then prolly wont be that detrimental. But who knows what is high these days lol.

Can you post a link as to where it says about Toronto looking at your cGPA at a certain point in the application process?

They dont have that posted anywhere, I only know cause I have contacted them myself and maybe I shouldnt have wrote that....so I removed it.

If you look at the Accepted/Reject thread and realize that it is a very small sample and note the large differences between cGPA and wGPA you would certainly change your mind.

- Lupe :cool:

• 3 months later...
out of curiosity, does anyone know if u of t ever applies the weighting formula to someone who has not taken a full course load in all years of their undergraduate?