Premed 101 Forums

Hi I am a first year student currently studying at Langara College.

I am getting a GPA of 3.50 on all my courses.

Here are all the transferable courses I have completed so far:

BIOL 1115 & 1215 => UBC BIOL 111, 121, 140

MATH 1171 => UBC MATH 100

PHYS 1101 => UBC PHYS 101

JAPN 1115 => UBC JAPN 100

JAPN 1215 => UBC JAPN 101

CHIN 2221 => UBC CHIN 205

If I use these courses and transfer to UBC Faculty of Science 2nd year, do I have a high chance of getting accepted?

P.S. I am thinking of taking 1st year English and Chemistry courses in UBC AFTER I transferred (hopefully ;s)

Hi I am a first year student currently studying at Langara College.

I am getting a GPA of 3.50 on all my courses.

Here are all the transferable courses I have completed so far:

BIOL 1115 & 1215 => UBC BIOL 111, 121, 140

MATH 1171 => UBC MATH 100

PHYS 1101 => UBC PHYS 101

JAPN 1115 => UBC JAPN 100

JAPN 1215 => UBC JAPN 101

CHIN 2221 => UBC CHIN 205

If I use these courses and transfer to UBC Faculty of Science 2nd year, do I have a high chance of getting accepted?

P.S. I am thinking of taking 1st year English and Chemistry courses in UBC AFTER I transferred (hopefully ;s)

All depends on your transfer GPA. If you have completed 24-30 credits then theyll only use those to calculate your admission GPA, if not then your high school transcripts will factor in too. If youre transferring to Science second year then a transfer GPA of 73% and above based on most recent 30 credits transferrable is enough to get acceptance. That was the cutoff for this years transfer to science. Also I have a hunch that If you havnt done english then those will be the only courses that you might be able to take in your first semester. Look up UBC Viewbook 2010 for details.