Premed 101 Forums

Confused about GPA and most recent 60 credits

Hey everyone, this has probably been beaten to death but I am confused about the GPA and "most recent 60 credits" requirements.

1) I did my undergrad at the University of Waterloo and all my marks and GPA are already in percentages. Will UBC convert these or leave them alone?

2) What are the most recent 60 credits? At Waterloo, we had semestered courses so each course was generally worth 0.5 credits. OMSAS says that semestered courses would take a weighting of 1...which means that I'd still only have a total of ~46 credits. Does most recent 60 credits just mean the last 2/3 years?

Finally, is there any weight given to the rigour/difficulty of the undergrad program? I graduated from Honours Computer Engineering with an 82% average (~84% if you remove 1st year courses) and would like to know if this would help my application.

Thanks in advance!! :)

- D

Oh, forgot to ask:

Since I'll need to take classes to fulfill the pre-requisites, will these marks be added to my GPA calculation?

Thanks again.

No.

Hey everyone, this has probably been beaten to death but I am confused about the GPA and "most recent 60 credits" requirements.

1) I did my undergrad at the University of Waterloo and all my marks and GPA are already in percentages. Will UBC convert these or leave them alone?

2) What are the most recent 60 credits? At Waterloo, we had semestered courses so each course was generally worth 0.5 credits. OMSAS says that semestered courses would take a weighting of 1...which means that I'd still only have a total of ~46 credits. Does most recent 60 credits just mean the last 2/3 years?

Finally, is there any weight given to the rigour/difficulty of the undergrad program? I graduated from Honours Computer Engineering with an 82% average (~84% if you remove 1st year courses) and would like to know if this would help my application.

Thanks in advance!! :)

- D