Premed 101 Forums

Taking Courses of Increasing Level of Difficulty

Hi,

I was told by a friend that the adcoms examine the difficulty of the level of courses that you take, and will flag your application if you are taking easy courses. I am taking 6 x 3rd year courses right now, and have filled my empty spaces with relatively easy courses, and was wondering if that would affect me in any way.

Right now I am taking a first year music course which I have heard is a bird. But I was thinking of taking a mini-thesis course with a prof that I know...It's basically no-work + guaranteed high grade versus lots of work + potentially high grade???

Thanks,

jordan

I'm not sure how its done.

I'm not at U of T.

But my Academic Councillor at my institution advised me NOT to take any first year courses.

I'm not sure what year your in. But I'm in 4th year so the majority of my courses are 4th year and the rest are 3rd year or second year.

In my opinion, the 1st year course does NOT look good in 4th year or beyond.

I'm not sure how they assess the difficulty of a course: By just the what year the course corresponds to or what the class average was?

- Lupe

EDIT: If you're taking the first year course to fulfill a degree requirement than that should be fine.

Right now I'm taking 6x 3 year courses. 3 x 2nd year courses which are required for my degree. I was hoping to take an easy first year course for my last course... super easy... But I'm not sure whether I should do it or not.... and take a minithesis course instead....

I'm a third year if you hadn't noticed... and I was planning to take the second half of physics in my 4th year... because I plan to apply to McGil and a couple schools in the states :(.... Should I still take it then?