Premed 101 Forums

Poor first 2 years + wicked last 2 years

Hey gang,

It's my first post on premed101 (exciting!)....I wanted to get your thoughts on my situation (many others might be in the same boat as me).

I had a 2.7 GPA in my first two years of undergrad, followed by 3.8 in my last two years. Overall OMSAS GPA is 3.2 (having UofT's weighting formula applied barely improves the wGPA to 3.4). I am currently in my last year of PhD with a 4.0 graduate GPA and 3 first author publications in top journals (including a paper that made news headlines). Lots of international conference presentations and prestigious awards and accolades.

How do you guys think I stack up at U of T? As a research school, I think my best bet is with U of T (it's also my preferred school as I did my undergrad and grad work at U of T). Does U of T take into consideration a dramatic improvement in marks towards the latter part of your undergrad?

I also have plenty of ECs, clinical volunteer experience and good MCAT scores (I know MCAT is just a flag at U of T anyway). I'm just worried about the undergrad GPA....any thoughts gang? :)

I would also consider UBC, who look at a lot of non-academics and consider your graduate grades as well. Especially if you have a 4.0, your last 60 credit average will be high. Getting a interview at UofT shouldn't be too difficult so long as you have a good personal statement..

Thanks for the replies!

I can't apply to UBC since I don't meet their 1.0 credit requirement in English.

As for U of T, getting an interview pretty much gives you a 50/50 shot of getting in, correct? Unlike most schools that interview way more students than the number of seats.