Premed 101 Forums

Time for hobbies during Medical School?

Hey guys!

Just wanted to get an idea of how much spare time you guys find yourselves with during med school? :D

I ask this because I'm a musician that maintains a pretty serious Youtube channel, and I was wondering if it would be reasonable to continue pursuing this on the side if I am eventually successful in entering med school.

Hey guys!

Just wanted to get an idea of how much spare time you guys find yourselves with during med school? :D

I ask this because I'm a musician that maintains a pretty serious Youtube channel, and I was wondering if it would be reasonable to continue pursuing this on the side if I am eventually successful in entering med school.

I'm not in med school so my comments aren't based on anything beyond my own logic and understanding.

I think you'll be able to maintain it... maybe not to the same degree, but if you plan it out and make time for your music/channel then you'll be able to do it. That is until clerkship... then... maybe not.

Med school is about balance... I think we'll have time to do stuff we want to do, but priority number one should be med school. I plan on going to the gym 3 or 4 times a week, playing sports, having a social life and studying my ass off. I'll figure out a way to make it work, but I'm not expecting to go out every weekend or playing varsity (even though I want to). So, if you put the time in, make it important and prioritize... you should be able to do it. If you did it in undergrad, then you will figure out a way to keep it going in med school.

Good luck- also, if you feel so inclined, hook us up with your youtube channel.

I'm not in med school so my comments aren't based on anything beyond my own logic and understanding.

I think you'll be able to maintain it... maybe not to the same degree, but if you plan it out and make time for your music/channel then you'll be able to do it. That is until clerkship... then... maybe not.