Premed 101 Forums

Med schools that require 1st year english... what if I'm not good at it?

I know some schools require 1st year english (both semesters) or at least expository writing. Since my back up plan is US schools, some require it there as well.

So naturally it makes sense to keep more doors open by taking 1st year english at some point. My concern is what if I'm not good at english courses?

In grade 12, my science/math marks mostly being >90 or at least in the 80s if I put in minimal effort. English I have never done better than a mid 70. I'm just not motivated to do well in english + just dont succeed at it.

So how is 1st year english/literature? It seems that it would be something only there to drop my GPA.

English courses can be easy! My best marks in English in high school were mid 70's and I got A's in both of my English courses. Talk to people about profs, find one that gives a good chunk of marks to class participation, lots of profs want to discuss books and lots of students want to sit there and do nothing, so some profs will implement mini quizzes on the reading material or give marks for participating in discussion. Find those classes and PARTICIPATE IN DISCUSSIONS! Even if you can't find profs like that just go to class and participate, do all your readings when you are supposed to and talk about them with the prof.