Premed 101 Forums

My Chances for American Med

I am a resident of Ontario. What are my chances for American Med Schools? My gpa is 3.36 and I still have to take the MCAT this summer. Considering I get a good competitive MCAT score, would I have any chance for at least the mid/low tier med schools.

Also, are there any American Med Schools that look at best 2 or 3 years?

Thanks.

3.36 is low for american MD schools

With a score of over 33, you might have a shot with the low tiers (Wayne, RFU etc)

All US schools look at your complete transcript (every course you have taken)

You might want to look up DO schools while applying to some low tier MD schools

I am a resident of Ontario. What are my chances for American Med Schools? My gpa is 3.36 and I still have to take the MCAT this summer. Considering I get a good competitive MCAT score, would I have any chance for at least the mid/low tier med schools.

Thanks.

I hate to say it, but... with a cGPA of 3.36.. it's pretty much game over for MD schools. Even with a 33+, or even 35 MCAT, your GPA will hurt you bad (especially coupled to your being a Canadian, and I'm assuming no US citizenship/permanent residence status). I believe there's 1 exception to that rule this year, someone on this forum got in with a 3.3ish and mid 30s MCAT, but that's the first time I've seen this happen on this forum since I started frequenting this site 4 years ago. Also, from all the Canadian stats I've seen over the years, that's the first time I've seen something like that happen... Anyways, I'd look into plan B - USDO schools - which are much more lenient with GPA. Also, DO schools are American medical schools.. so in that sense, you can still get what you want - an American medical education :)