Premed 101 Forums

Verbal Reasoning Help!

Gametime24

Hey,

I'm studying in a SUPER cramped timeline.. I got a 10 on the first verbal test I did (aamc 3R) stayed there for a bit (4R and 5R) got a 9 on EK 101 passages test 1.. recently i have improved some, getting 11 on EK 101 passages tests 2, 3 and 4. Just cant seem to break the 11 range and into the 12-13 range!

I always like to be scoring higher in practice that what would satisfy me on the real thing (ie Id like to be scoring 12-13 in practice so I can comfortably get an 11+)

I know practice test aren't ALWAYS indicative of performance, however, any tips would be helpful! Right now im trying to stress the main ideas of the passages and see how examples cited in the passage provide support for or against the authors opinion.

Anyone in a similar situation? Or anyone that has gotten into that higher range and has some tips!

Thanks in advance!

Just finished another EK passages test and got a 12 on it, but just barely! They list 53-55 to be the range for 12 and I scored a 53/60 lol.

I'll definitely keep doing more practice passages, I have about 5 more EK tests to go through and 4 more full aamc tests (obv with a verbal section in them).

I read the EK verbal book briefly before starting the practice tests, some things I knew I wouldn't have time to fully get into so I didn't practice them (trying to figure out the tone and material of the passage from just the question stems, etc). However, I have no doubt that, given the proper time, they would be very useful!

Tips I've actually used so far are :

Stay away from absolutes

If you think the answer is directly in the passage, go get it! but do so quickly as to not waste time (found it helps eliminate simple mistakes which are huge when the scale is so tight)

Rely on passage information, NOT outside info you already know