Premed 101 Forums

starting work out

donnadee

i need help with deciding how to begin work out..i would like to begin lifting weights , not for weight loss, but for building muscle...i have had no past experience with gym so need advice on where and how to start...would i need to get a trainer to learn the right techniques or can i do it on my own?

thanks

on another note, im planning on taking up a sport..any recommendations...i'd love to try tennis or golf...(any tips on where in GTA lessons are offered for beginners?)

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Google is a good place to start for detailed beginner routines and videos(youtube) on how to perform the exercises with correct technique/form. Search john berardi for solid advice on nutrition.

Avoid routines that include pictures of steroid jacked men telling you to do 3 different exercises per muscle group.

Personally, I love three exercises: Bench press, squats and pull ups. I think you should slowly (as in low weight) try these three first and do these to build up a base. Then you can add other exercises that target specific muscle groups.

I'd also recommend you learn the proper techniques for deadlifts, squats, and bench presses which are a staple for those who lift naturally. BB.com is definitely a great resource.

After a few months I'd recommend you look into Stronglifts.com. I'm following their system at the moment and have been enjoying the new gains/PRs.

Also don't buy the hype into all supplements available. Quality whey and a solid nutrition plan will have you seeing gains on the scale, and save you money.

I'll add..