Premed 101 Forums

Bad grade in physics- help ASAP pls!

AA27

Hey everyone,

I am a first year student going into second year..currently taking a physics course in summer school (mcmaster) and managed to completely bomb the midterms. I have the option of dropping the course by tomorrow and receiving a "CANCEL" on my transcript (and eventually taking it again).. or completing the course with the hope that I can do well on the exam..even then I probably wont get higher than about a 60% in the course. I know that some med schools require physics as a pre-req - with that said, how badly will a 60 affect my chances of getting into med school in the long run?

any help would be appreciated -thanks in advance!!

For most medical schools, the pre-req is simply a check mark for completion. There are a few schools (I forgot which ones, and you will hvae to do your reesearch) that calculate a pre-req GPA. Also since you are taking the course in the summer, it won't affect your GPA. If I were, I would work hard and try to finish the course.

^ I dunno, if I were you, I would drop it. But then again, I have a history of dropping courses that I do poorly in on the midterm.

You said the highest you would get is a 60...It's not about the medschools now. At this point it's the decision to work your hardest and try and get 100% on the exam and be ok ending up with a 60. To me that's just not worth it.

^ I dunno, if I were you, I would drop it. But then again, I have a history of dropping courses that I do poorly in on the midterm.

You said the highest you would get is a 60...It's not about the medschools now. At this point it's the decision to work your hardest and try and get 100% on the exam and be ok ending up with a 60. To me that's just not worth it.

If the mark has no bearing (assuming passed) on med school admissions requirements then why would you want to put yourself through the hassle again?