Premed 101 Forums

Letters of Reference

I am sure there have been threads on this in the past but either way, i'll put it out there again.

I was just wondering about what kind of references letters people get. Im not applying to med school for another year, but i really dont know who i would get references from. I dont know any professors really well, I am a varsity athlete but I'm not sure how good the writing from my coach would sound. i mean i know they like me and what not, but its about how good they can make you sound on paper. I have also volunteered for a kids rehab hospital but ive moved around programs so i dont know who i would get to write a reference.

Also, i am a exec on a student organization, could i get another student to write a reference, or is it bad because they are young?

what about family friends?

sorry about the long post, i just wanted to hear what you guys have to say about references in general

Thanks!

Luckily, I was an english major, and the classes were a lot smaller, so I got my academic reference from an english professor. I don't know what things are like where you are, but at my university, classes got smaller as you get on in your studies.

Try to take a couple of seminars or smaller classes to hopefully farm some references. Or you could try your luck asking a prof from a larger class and hoping that they meet with you and get to know you a bit and still write you a decent ref.

I also had a letter from a volunteer supervisor who knew me for a good few years and one from a student. The student in question was first a training coordinator when I trained for the program, and then a fellow volunteer, so it still had that authority aspect even though she was also a student.

Stay away from family friends.