Premed 101 Forums

Anyone Considering Caribbean Medical School?

Hello everyone;

Let’s cut to the chase! Right now I am a student at UofC and I am applying for 2011/2012 cycle. I am confident however I am not sure I will be able to get in this year.

I am 24 year old male and I am considering a Caribbean medical school. I haven't decided a specific one yet.

I am kind of scared about the whole thing and i want to ask if there is anyone that’s in the same position as me. If yes, we can do this together and i think it would remove considerable portion of anxiety.

Consider, reconsidering.

Given the conservative majority, global economic turmoil, and plethora of other factors, coming back to Canada for IMGs will be very difficult. Please read some threads here, as well, do comprehensive research before you decide to go to Carribeans, since you will be incurring close to 150 debt minimum and upwards of 3K, plus interest, coupled with the fear of not having a residency spot.

• 3 weeks later...
You have IP status...it is MUCH more worth your time and money to spend trying to get in here (esp. U of C) than the Carribean. You can also apply OOP as well if you improve grades/MCAT/ECs (the whole package).

I know a family that is down in Saint Eustatius (near Haiti I think) and the husband is at their School of Medicine. Now bear in mind that he went down there because A) he didn't have a degree only a few university courses and B) they had a few houses they owned and after selling them, went down with 500k in their pocket.