Premed 101 Forums

Advice

Guest kel

I was wondering if anyone has any advice for me. My GPA is not high (~3.3). I really want to get into med, so I'm trying really hard to pull my grades up. The problem is that my courses (which are manditory for my program-pharmacy) seems to be pulling my GPA down. I will be taking the MCAT in April (I've been studying like crazy so hopefully it'll pay off!). I have lots of experience (volunteer, research, work, travel, etc...). Do med schools understand that some programs are more difficult that others? Should I take some courses in the summer to pull my GPA up? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Guest Ian Wong

Not really.

A medical school is far more likely to look at your 3.3 in Pharmacy, and discard it in favour of the Biology student with the 3.9. The reason for this is that much of the initial screening is done by computer using an artificial threshold. If you don't meet this threshold, you'll automatically receive a rejection letter, no matter what your major is, or how many extracurriculars or research experiences you have. This isn't really fair, as I've seen just how much work pharmacy students have to do, but it's the reality from my viewpoint.

As a result of learning this throughout the last couple of years, I've really been changing the advice I've been giving to people. The most important part of your application has to be your marks until you are assured of receiving an interview (ie. you must keep a high enough GPA that med schools will want to interview you). Only at that point should you add on the extra-currics like volunteering, travelling, research, etc, which are likely to give you the advantage during your interviews.