Premed 101 Forums

OOP applicant

I am just wondering if you think it is worth it for me to apply to Calgary? 3.90 cumulative GPA... Average EC's: Don't really have any steady volunteer experience but I'm involved in intramuels/a few groups, and I have worked with kids with autism for 3 years as a support worker (full-time in summer, part-time during year).

I just got my MCAT back and I got 11 VR (5P,7B ). I only applied to McMaster in Ontario and thus only studied really for Verbal. Anddd I got an M on the writing sample :( Kind of froze on one of the essays and at the end I only ended up with 2 paragraphs of nothing really.

Anyways, my GPA is decent, should I give it a shot? I have started the application process but haven't submitted anything yet. I am in 3rd year now and I am an Ontario resident. Thanks for the help.

Ahhh, alright. I found what you are talking about... Hmmm. To spend or not to spend $150. Any more opinions? It would be a bit of extra work as I need to put in verifiers for all of my activities/sketch. For McMaster you don't need verifiers.

Do I still use U of C's grading system? If so I have a GPA of 3.95 according to the A+ and A= 4.0 system. I have to decide today if to apply. I feel like my GPA and VR are hovering around the score of the average applicant who receives an interview but the rest of my MCAT and my extracuriculars probably aren't as strong as everyone else (obviously my MCAT sucks).

The things that are stopping me from applying are the: $150 cost, likelihood of not receiving an interview, having to do verifier/write impact statements just for this application, asking my referees to write me another recommendation within 3 days after just having them complete my OMSAS letter of reference a week ago.

If anyone has seen the U of C referee letters, are they long sections with the specific question or are they numerical? And is it all online or do they have to mail it in?

Thanks so much for the help so far.