Premed 101 Forums

I'm too busy - which of these summer activities should I prioritize for med school?

equus

I hope to be incredibly busy next summer. However, I think I'm TOO busy and I don't think all my plans are going to work out. I would appreciate advice on what to do. (I'm currently in my 2nd year at Queen's)

This is my proposed plan for summer of 2012:

1) Travel to South America and perform my project director duties for a health-related organization --> 2 weeks in May

2) Take Orgo at Western --> May 14 - June 26

3) Paid research job --> July - August

However, there are a few issues with this. I am currently project director of a health-related organization at my university, and it is absolutely necessary that I travel to South America to set things up for the people I am in charge of. However, I had previously agreed to do this for THREE weeks, which would ruin the rest of my summer plans, and I don't think I can get my boss to agree to let me take 2 weeks. Therefore, I might not get back to Canada in time to take Orgo at Western. However, I need Orgo for my degree and I really want to take it in the summer so it won't ruin my year. I also need to take Orgo in order to be able to write the MCAT, which I planned to do the summer of 2013.

This is a compromised scenario:

1)Travel to South America and perform my project director duties for a health-related organization --> 3 weeks in May, 2012

2) Research job --> June - August, 2012

3) UWO Orgo --> May - June, 2013

4) MCAT prep course --> June - August 2013

5) Write MCAT --> end of August 2013

This would obviously suck doing Orgo and the MCAT at the same time.

I need help and advice on what to do!!!