Premed 101 Forums

Starting over (and overcoming a very low CGPA)

Hello everyone,

I'm a new graduate considering a change of field. Here is a summary of my post-secondary education:

McGill University:

B.A., 2003

Major concentration: Mathematics

Minor concentration: Social Studies of Medicine

CGPA: 2.17/4.0

University of Ottawa:

B.F.A. (Bachelor of Fine Arts), 2007

Major concentration: Studio Art

CGPA: 7.6/10

University of New Orleans:

M.F.A. (Master of Fine Arts), 2011

Major concentration: Studio Art

CGPA: 3.88/4.0

Obviously I do not appear as a strong candidate for medical school. My early undergraduate studies were affected when I struggled with "coming out". I'm proud of my achievements since then; I hold a terminal degree in the visual arts, and I've exhibited nationally and internationally. However I've maintained an interest in medicine and now I am curious to know if medical school is a reasonable pursuit for me.

Is my best course of action to enroll in full-time studies for at least two years and redo the undergraduate science requirements?

Is there another route to consider?

Naturally I want to mitigate the effect of my grades from McGill. Will two or three years of full-time undergraduate studies replace my earlier grades? Is it actually possible to establish a new CGPA for the purpose of consideration for medical school in Canada?

I appreciate any straightforward and honest response.

Thank you

Without myself knowing the various policies of each medical school re: second undergraduate degrees or in your case the possibility of a third! I would start with that to give you an indication of which schools look at only select years of schooling. For example I am screwed at any schools that look at all years as I do have a GPA of 1.80 one year so I rely on schools that look at your second degree only.