Premed 101 Forums

HELP I think I failed my first university midterm

Guest Transparent

HELP I think I failed my first university midterm. :(

I literally panicked during the mid-term. It was my first university mid-term, I had no idea what the **** I was doing. I didn't get to complete all the questions because I ran out of time and neither did I get to check over my work for the questions I did complete. I studied my ass off for this midterm. There goes my first year GPA :(

Find out your mark first (and average/standard deviation if you go to a school that grades on a curve).

If in fact you did fail, drop it like a hot potato (make sure you do it properly so a W shows up!).

And don't worry... It happens to everyone :) For the next midterm, relax, take a deep breath and just do it. :) No worries!

I literally panicked during the mid-term. It was my first university mid-term, I had no idea what the **** I was doing. I didn't get to complete all the questions because I ran out of time and neither did I get to check over my work for the questions I did complete. I studied my ass off for this midterm. There goes my first year GPA :(

1 midterm won't destroy your GPA. Do some mock tests before entering the midterms in the future, it really helps with the blanking out. Best of luck!

that's exactly what happened to me when I wrote my first university midterm. it was chemistry. I panicked and forgot how to do something simple things like calculating limiting reagent. I failed the test with a 44%, but managed to finish the course with a 72.

just wait until the mark comes out and then decide what to do. Deciding factors would include the class average, and how much the midterm is worth.