Premed 101 Forums

MED 2015 Admissions Statistics is now posted

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I posted in the other thread about this.

Mean age is way, way down, and it's surprising how many 3rd year applicants got in.

Averages have gone up, but this is somewhat misleading as there is a greater percentage of OOP's in the class (4.6% last year, 10% this year). This would correlate to a rise in grades needed to get in.

I suddenly feel very sick. They're discriminating against older applicants. And by older, I mean older than 21!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

UBC frustrates me so badly. Why does BC have to be my home province? Sigh.

One thing I found strange is that there are 4 students who are in the entering classs with average between 70-74.99. How did they manage to get a full file review?

Amen. Perhaps I'm biased since I'm a grad applicant, but admitting that many more 3rd year students isn't that wise. When other schools are moving towards the holistic approach (Queens, Calgary), UBC is moving backwards. They might as well set the pre-interview cutoffs for GPA and MCAT much higher then.

Yes, Aboriginal students' files are holistically reviewed with notes on how their GPA has improved. I am an Aboriginal applicant. HOWEVER, their MCAT is scrutinized much more in that case, and I wrote on September 1st instead of before August 31st (was feeling sick on August 23rd when I wrote the first time this summer and got a mediocre score from that sitting) so I can't use my great MCAT score from September 1st this year. I'm praying for a miracle again this year as an Aboriginal applicant even though I was on the Dean's list this past year. I'm already preparing for depression again! Good ol' UBC - that backwards school we all so love to want to be at!